Username:

Password:

Fargot Password? / Help

Gear Reviews

It's not always easy traveling 24/7, living in a van and finding ways to blog about it.  Check out the gear that gets us there and our opinions of it.
Posted in: Gear Reviews
October 10, 20124 years ago

Therm-a-Rest NeoAir Trekker Mattress

We like to consider ourselves experts when it comes to minimalism.  So when it came time to select a sleeping pad, we made no exceptions.  We searched the interwebs high and low and read crazy amounts of reviews and specification breakdowns.  Then we came across the Therm-a-Rest NeoAir Trekker Mattress.  A sleeping pad that compresses to the size of a Nalgene Bottle?  Seriously?!  Without hesitation we had to try this pad...  Read more

April 16, 20125 years ago

GSI Outdoors Kung Foon

When GSI Outdoors sent us their new Kung Foon, my initial impression was that it was equally as ridiculous as it was cool.  As I read the packaging and investigated further, this crazy little contraption actually started to make sense.  After a bit of use, I could see that the creative people at GSI Outdoors have actually put together a unique and usable combination with their new spork... er... uh... Foon.   Read more

January 2, 20125 years ago

Gear Review: GSI Outdoors Halulite Microdualist Cookset

Ok, I'm gonna make this review as short and sweet as possible. We've used the GSI Microdualist Cookset as our backpacking cookware for the last 2 years or so and since converting to full-time vagabonds, have cooked with nothing but this set using our Brunton ultralight stove almost every day for the past 9 months straight. THIS IS OUR ENTIRE KITCHEN. No need for a lot of flare here, so let's get right to the info...   Read more

December 31, 20115 years ago

No Rinse Body Bath

Picture this: You're trekking across the United States in your van and for some reason, despite all sensible logic, you've decided that you might like to spend a couple weeks living in Chicago right in the middle of summer.  You line up a beautiful parking spot right downtown.  After a day of wandering the city, playing at the beach and a free concert at Millenium Park, you decide life is good.  Then night hits.  A sweltering 85 degrees complimented with 90% humidity begin their attack on your sweat glands.  After a rough night of tossing and turning, the morning greats you promptly as you stagger out of your side door and realize where you are. Hair matted, shirt soaked, smelling like that guy on the train... you know, the one who wouldn't put his arms down despite your attempts to cast your best "bitter beer face" in his direction.  Yep, now YOU are THAT guy.

What are you to do? Hotel room... not an option. Gym membership... nah.  Jump in Lake Michigan and go for a brisk swim... seriously?  Don't worry, we've been in this exact situation and have the perfect solution: No Rinse Body Bath. Yes, for real. No rinse.  As travelers, backpackers, campers and van dwellers, this stuff has been our constant companion.   Read more

August 23, 20115 years ago

MSR PackTowl Personal and Nano

Towels... wait, seriously?  A review on towels?  Yes.  If these were any regular towel, I don't think they'd be worthy of review, but the MSR towels are anything but regular.  Think Super Shammy meets Bear Grylls.  Currently, we own 4 MSR towels: 2  Packtowl Personals (Size Large) and 2 PackTowl Nanos (Size Small).  For those who just found this blog, there's two things you must know about us: 1) We live in a van.  2) We love to go backpacking, camping and such.  When making selections as to which equipment we're going to use, there's a few of things we always have to keep in mind: space, weight and effectiveness.  As far as I'm concerned, the MSR towels accomplish all three.
Read more

Posted in: Gear Reviews
June 23, 20115 years ago

Julbo Nomad Sunglasses

Most of Julbo eyewear is geared towards the sun- seeking extreme sports such as mountaineering, climbing, etc.  Although the Nomads with the Spectron 4 lens are one of the extreme sunglass models in their collection, I've adapted them into my everyday living. Because of my eye condition, Achromatopsia, the extent of my light sensitivity can be unbearable and debilitating. The Spectron 4 is a Category 4 lens, which means they're as dark or darker than many states' legal limit for car window tints. Only letting in about 5% of light brings some sense of mobility and has pushed me to doing things I once believed impossible.   Read more
Pages:12